Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The Brown Square Dominion
20171012-Dream-The Brown Square Dominion
06:00 PDST, 06:28 LST

They appeared everywhere at once. Metal robots with a rounded conical mound where the head should be. No faces or features. Each one carried a Roman-style scissor-blade on a pike staff. They marched everywhere in formation, but very, very fast and without any clanking or sound. If they found you, they made you kneel and say,
“I renounce all other religions and authority and and accept the Brown Square Dominion.”
And if you did, it was true—You were “inside the Brown Square.”

If anyone gave them trouble, attacked, or refused to accept the Brown Dominion, they were killed immediately.

I was a student at a University, and tried my best to hide from the robots, but they found me at last. I had to accept the Brown Square Dominion.

Other groups of robots took over every government office, business, or institution. Every document was quickly and efficiently stamped with an opaque brown square right over the business name or corporate seal. It was the color of medium brown hair, sort of like flat paint except that the edges of the square were perfectly straight and sharp, and it could not be removed from the document, or even cut with scissors. After the robots were done with our files and our equipment, we could still use them—Print anything we wanted, unless it was “Not Allowed.” Whatever we printed came out with the Brown Square on it. Even plain paper in a black and white printer came out with the Brown Square perfectly covering any logo, emblem or corporate seal. No one could figure out how it was happening.